The 9 Classes of Dangerous Goods

Dangerous goods are materials or items with hazardous properties which, if not properly controlled present a potential hazard to human health and safety, infrastructure and/or their means of transport.

Dangerous goods, often recognized as hazardous materials, may be pure chemicals, mixtures of substances, manufactured products or articles which can pose a risk to people, animals or the environment if not properly handled in use or in transport.

Transporting dangerous goods involves also restrictions. DSV shall not transport all the IMO classes so the suitability for transporting should always be checked separately.

The UN Model Regulations use a classification system in which each dangerous substance or article is assigned to a CLASS, depending on the nature of the danger it presents. There are 9 Classes, some of which are sub-divided. Click on the class to read more:

1. Explosives

2. Gases

3. Flammable Liquids

4. Flammable Solids

5. Oxidizing Substances

6. Toxic & Infectious Substances

7. Radioactive Material

8. Corrosives

9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods